Cecily Curtis

Cecily Curtis

I grew up in Tampa, Florida with my older brother and younger sister. I discovered my love for running in middle school after joining the track team. I continued running track in high school, along with cross country. I am grateful to have chosen a sport that I could enjoy into adulthood – and one that adds so much to my life.

Growing up, seeing my parents working in the financial planning industry had a significant influence on me, sparking an interest to pursue a career similar to theirs. I also developed a passion for small businesses while working in a gift shop throughout high school. I learned how to interact with customers, problem solve, and be creative. Working at that shop was an introduction to the importance of being part of a great team.

I studied entrepreneurship at Elon University. During my time at Elon, I gained further exposure to financial planning through various case studies and internships, cementing my interest in the field. I also gained additional experience working with a team when I served as president of my sorority.

I joined The Meakem Group in March of 2022. As a Financial Advisor, I assist Traci with preparation and follow-up for client meetings, create and update retirement goal plans, service client accounts and handle client requests and trading. 

Getting to know our clients and working with them to help achieve their goals is a privilege. There is such a deep sense of satisfaction knowing that we are making a difference in our clients’ lives. I enjoy the challenges posed by complex situations; there is always something new to learn. It is very fulfilling, and I really enjoy being part of The Meakem Group team. 


In my free time I like to take walks around Washington, DC, discover new restaurants with my friends, and try out new recipes. I love DC, but my happy place is the beach. When I visit my family in Florida, we always spend time on Anna Maria Island. It is a small beach town that is perfect for boating, biking, and relaxing.

I also love traveling. I lived in Florence, Italy for four months during college. My favorite class was Art History – we would spend one day each week in the classroom going through our textbook and spend the second day walking around the city visiting the art we had just studied. My favorite place that I’ve traveled to outside of Italy is Croatia. My family and I took in the beautiful landscapes while biking and hiking through backroads and then ended each day with a swim in the Adriatic Sea. I’m grateful to have had the opportunity to visit these places. I hope to continue crossing new places off my list!